
Ruby's Diner, at the Promenade, is built on the site of the old Consolidated Vultee Aircraft Corporation. Their decor, with its models and posters of vintage aircraft, pays tribute to the site's aeronautical heritage.





The ranch in Adelaida has been in the Dubost family since 1882, when Auguste and Pauline Dubost, who had immigrated from France, settled here to open a general store to cater to the gold and silver miners. They also ran the post office and a dance hall. This 1880s spring wagon (right) was originally used by Auguste and Pauline to make the two-day trek over the hill to Cayucos to meet the clipper ships for supplies and mail for Adelaida. Their daughter-in-law Alexandrine later rode the wagon in the Pioneer Day Parade.